Home > Hockey, Sports > NHL Awards

NHL Awards

NHL Awards winners will be announced Thursday, June 12 during the 2008 NHL Awards Television Special, which will be broadcast live throughout Canada on CBC and the United States on VERSUS from the historic Elgin Theatre in Toronto. Here is the updated list of known awards winners for 2007-2008 NHL season:

The Stanley Cup (League Champion) Detroit Red Wings
Prince of Wales Trophy (Eastern Conference Champion) Pittsburgh Penguins
Clarence S. Campbell Bowl (Western Conference Champion) Detroit Red Wings

President Trophy (best record) – Detroit Red Wings
Art Ross Trophy
(top point scorer) – Alexander Ovechin, Washington Capitals
Maurice Richard Trophy
(top goal scorer) – Alexander Ovechin, Washington Capitals
William M Jennings Trophy
(goalies with fewest goals against) – Dominik Hasek/Chris Osgood, Detroit Red Wings

Other awards will be announced at the Awards show:

Lester B. Pearson Award (Most Outstanding Player as Selected by the NHLPA)
King Clancy Memorial Trophy
(Leadership and Humanitarian Contribution)
Lester Patrick Trophy (Outstanding Service to Hockey in the United States)

Here is a review of the past announced NHL awards and my picks:

Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender)

Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose Sharks (MY PICK)

Norris Trophy (outstanding defenseman)

Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings (MY PICK)
Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames

Calder Trophy (outstanding rookie)

Nicklas Backstrom, Washington Capitals
Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks (MY PICK)
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly play)

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings (MY PICK)
Jason Pominville, Buffalo Sabres
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Frank Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward)

Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
John Madden, New Jersey Devils
Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings (MY PICK)

Hart Trophy Finalists (most valuable player)

Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
Evgeni Malkin
, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin
, Washington Capitals (MY PICK)

Jack Adams Award Finalists (outstanding coach)

Bruce Boudreau, Washington Capitals (MY PICK)
Mike Babcock, Detroit Red Wings
Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens

Check back next week to see how I did.

Categories: Hockey, Sports Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: