Home > Hockey, Sports > NHL 2009 Calder Trophy Nominees

NHL 2009 Calder Trophy Nominees

NHL.com announced the 2009 Calder Trophy Nominees today.  They were:

Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
Bobby Ryan, Anaheim Ducks
Kris Versteeg, Chicago Blackhawks

Now, I have watched many of the Blackhawks regular season games this year and will say I would favor Kris Versteeg in this category.  But, after a great start, the other candidates may have overtaken him towards the end.  Bobby Ryan was the rookie leader in goals and points.  Steve Mason was terrific in net for Columbus and leading to their first Stanley Cup playoffs.  So, I know that any one of these three players deserve this year’s award.  I will pick Versteeg, but the favorite is Mason for this honor and he will win.

Tomorrow the NHL will announce nominees for Calder Trophy.  Here is the schedule:

WED, APRIL 22: Calder Trophy (top rookie)
THU, APRIL 23: Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
FRI, APRIL 24: Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship)
MON, APRIL 27: Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
TUE, APRIL 28: Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
WED, APRIL 29: Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
THU, APRIL 30: Masterton Trophy (perseverance)
FRI, MAY 1: Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
MON, MAY 4: NHL Foundation Award (contributions)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: