Home > Hockey, Sports > 2009 Stanley Cup Eastern Conference Semifinals

2009 Stanley Cup Eastern Conference Semifinals

After exciting game 7 series last night, the Eastern Conference semifinal match ups are set.   I was 3-0 in my selection for this conference.  I unfortunately pushed on the Carolina-New Jersey series, but did call it right in that it would 7 games.  Overall, I am 5-2 in my picks, or since I pushed on one series, 5-3.  So, not too bad.  But, it is going to get tougher to pick winners.

EASTERN CONFERENCE

(6) Carolina Hurricanes vs. (1) Boston Bruins
Game 1 Friday at TD Banknorth Garden

With San Jose out of the playoffs, Boston is the top team with home ice advantage the rest of the playoffs.  They are well rested and should be able to handle the Canes, but beware.  The Canes played hard against the Devils and were one of the hot teams entering the playoffs.  They have the ability to do to Boston what the Duck did to the Sharks.  But, I will pick the Bruins in 6 games.

(4) Pittsburgh Penguins vs. (2) Washington Capitals
Game 1 Saturday at Verizon Center

This will be another difficult series to pick a winner.  But rather than push as I did with Carolina-New Jersey series, I will have to pick a winner.  So, do not forget the NHL Playoff Challenge to make your predictions.  The best players in the league are in this series.  It will be an interesting series to watch on VERSUS.  Both teams have impact players and goalies that are playing well.  A lot goals may be scored.  I will pick Washington in 7 games.

I may have more analysis later so check back later.

Categories: Hockey, Sports Tags: , , ,
  1. 29 April 2009 at 15:14

    I have to agree with both of those predictions in the east! The Penguins might be a bit more of the torn in the side of the Capitals. I’m crossing my fingers for a Washington/Boston Semi finals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

