Home > Hockey, Sports > NHL 2009 Masterton Trophy Nominees

NHL 2009 Masterton Trophy Nominees

NHL.com has announced the 2009 Masterton Trophy nominees for the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.  This years nominees are:

Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings
Steve Sullivan, Nashville Predators
Richard Zednik, Florida Panthers

Yet, another fine lists of nominees who deserve this award.  All three of them have overcome a recent injury and continue to exhibit their dedication to their favorite past time, hockey.  Read the article and you will find out each of their stories.  Each of them are inspiring to see them back on the ice surface.  I would say Richard Zednik and Steve Sullivan may be leading favorites since their stories involve career ending injuries.  But, Chris Chelios has shown it is still possible to play 25 seasons in the NHL joining legends like Gordie Howe and Mark Messier.  I would select Richard Zendik, but I foresee that Chris Chelios will get this year’s award.

Here the update schedule and links are the award announcements:

WED, APRIL 22: Calder Trophy (top rookie)
THU, APRIL 23: Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
FRI, APRIL 24: Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship)
MON, APRIL 27: Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
TUE, APRIL 28: Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
WED, APRIL 29: Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
THU, APRIL 30: Masterton Trophy (perseverance)
FRI, MAY 1: Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
MON, MAY 4: NHL Foundation Award (contributions)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: