Home > Hockey, Sports > 2011 Vezina Trophy Nominees

2011 Vezina Trophy Nominees

Last week, the NHL announced the nominees for the Vezina Trophy are Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks, Pekka Rinne from the Nashville Predators and Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins.  NHL story is here.

All three goalie are deserving of this award.  Luongo lead the leagues in wins and few goals allowed by a team.  Rinne has been solid for the Predators all year in the first year out of the first round of the playoffs.  And Thomas has rebounded from a disappointing season to lead the league in goals against average and save percentage.  Those numbers will give Thomas his second Vezina in 3 years.

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 22 June 2011 at 19:17

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: