Posts Tagged ‘Calder Trophy’

2013 NHL Awards – Part II

16 June 2013 Leave a comment

Last night prior to Game 2 of 2013 Stanley Cup, the NHL announced the remaining winners of the 2013 NHL Awards.  Story here.

2013 Hart Trophy winner:Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals My pick: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

2013 Calder Memorial Trophy winner: Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers. My pick: Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks.

2013 Norris Trophy winner: P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens.  My pick: Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins


2013 Vezina Trophy winner: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets My pick: Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers

2013 Ted Lindsay Award winner: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins My pick:Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

As I stated yesterday, picking awards winners is difficult.  But, all finalists and winners deserve congratulations on their great season.


2013 Calder Trophy Finalists

Calder Memorial Trophy

NHL announced this past Monday the finalists for the 2013 Calder Memorial Trophy. The Calder Trophyis awarded to the League’s top rookie.  This year’s finalists are Montreal Canadiens winger Brendan Gallagher, center Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers and left wing Brandon Saad of the Chicago Blackhawks.

The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final.

Having watch of the Blackhawks games this year, I would like to see Brandon Saad win it.

2012 NHL Awards – Calder Trophy

26 April 2012 Leave a comment

NHL announced the 2012 Calder Trophy nominees on April 20th.  This year’s nominees are New Jersey Devils center Adam Henrique, Colorado Avalanche left wing Gabriel Landeskog and Edmonton Oilers center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins.  Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded to “the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League”. Read the story here.

This year’s choice will be difficult.  All three are deserving of this award.

The winner is will be announced at the 2012 NHL Awards Show, June 20 at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

Categories: Hockey, Sports Tags: , ,

2011 Calder Trophy Finalist

30 April 2011 1 comment

Last week, the NHL announced the finalist for the Calder Trophy (top rookie) are Michael Grabner of the New York Islanders, Logan Couture of the San Jose Sharks, and Jeff Skinner of the Carolina Hurricanes.  NHL story is here.

These three rookies are the 1-2-3 in rookie goal scoring.  Each have an interesting way in becoming a finalist.  Check NHL story for details.  Out of this group, Jeff Skinner has had the greatest impact.  Skinner was invited to the All Star Game and lead all the rookies in points.  Most media people say Skinner is the favorite to win it.  I would agree that Skinner will win it.

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

2011 NHL Awards

28 April 2011 Leave a comment

NHL has begun to announce the finalist for 2011 NHL Awards.

The schedule is as follows:

Date Award
April 19 Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
April 20 General Manager of the Year
April 21 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
April 22 Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
April 25 James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
April 26 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
April 27 Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
April 28 Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
April 29 Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
May 2 NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes)

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

With Easter being late this year, I have been slow in keeping up with these nominations.  So, I will be catching up in order to share my predictions.

Here is current list of award winners:

President’s Trophy (most points by team) – Vancouver Canucks

Art Ross Trophy (scoring leader)  – Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Williams Jennings Trophy (fewest goals allowed) – Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider, Vancouver Canucks

Maurice Richard Trophy (top goal scorer) –  Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks

NHL 2009 Calder Trophy Nominees

22 April 2009 Leave a comment announced the 2009 Calder Trophy Nominees today.  They were:

Steve Mason, Columbus Blue Jackets
Bobby Ryan, Anaheim Ducks
Kris Versteeg, Chicago Blackhawks

Now, I have watched many of the Blackhawks regular season games this year and will say I would favor Kris Versteeg in this category.  But, after a great start, the other candidates may have overtaken him towards the end.  Bobby Ryan was the rookie leader in goals and points.  Steve Mason was terrific in net for Columbus and leading to their first Stanley Cup playoffs.  So, I know that any one of these three players deserve this year’s award.  I will pick Versteeg, but the favorite is Mason for this honor and he will win.

Tomorrow the NHL will announce nominees for Calder Trophy.  Here is the schedule:

WED, APRIL 22: Calder Trophy (top rookie)
THU, APRIL 23: Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
FRI, APRIL 24: Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship)
MON, APRIL 27: Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
TUE, APRIL 28: Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
WED, APRIL 29: Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
THU, APRIL 30: Masterton Trophy (perseverance)
FRI, MAY 1: Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
MON, MAY 4: NHL Foundation Award (contributions)