Posts Tagged ‘Norris Trophy’

2013 NHL Awards – Part II

16 June 2013 Leave a comment

Last night prior to Game 2 of 2013 Stanley Cup, the NHL announced the remaining winners of the 2013 NHL Awards.  Story here.

2013 Hart Trophy winner:Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals My pick: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

2013 Calder Memorial Trophy winner: Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers. My pick: Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks.

2013 Norris Trophy winner: P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens.  My pick: Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins


2013 Vezina Trophy winner: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets My pick: Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers

2013 Ted Lindsay Award winner: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins My pick:Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

As I stated yesterday, picking awards winners is difficult.  But, all finalists and winners deserve congratulations on their great season.


2013 Norris Trophy Finalists

James Norris Memorial Trophy

NHL announced the finalists for the 2013 Norris Trophy this past Tuesday. The Norris Trophy is awarded annually to the defenseman who shows the “greatest all-round ability” at the position, as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season. This year’s finalists are Kris Letang of the Pittsburgh Penguins, P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens and Ryan Suter of the Minnesota Wild.

The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final.

Interesting fact in the announcement is that all these defensemen are new finalists.  All three have had an impressive year.  I would believe that Kris Letang would be the likely winner this year.

2012 NHL Awards – Norris Trophy

26 April 2012 Leave a comment

NHL announced the 2012 Norris Trophy nominees on April 26.  The finalists are Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins, Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators and Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators. The Norris Trophy is  awarded “to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.”  Check out the story here.

The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and will be announced at the 2012 NHL Awards Show on June 20 at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

Categories: Hockey, Sports Tags: ,

2011 Norris Trophy Nominees

Last week, the NHL announced the nominees for the James Norris Memorial Trophy (best defenseman). They are Detroit’s Nicklas Lidstrom, Boston’s Zdeno Chara and Nashville’s Shea Weber.  NHL story is here.

No surprise to see Nicklas Lidstrom and Zdeno Chara on this list of finalist.  They are always deserving of this award.  But, the individual who has made impact like last year’s winner, Duncan Keith of Chicago, has been Shea Weber.   Weber has been one of the reasons the Predators are the second this year.  Although a long shot, I like Weber winning this year.

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

2011 NHL Awards

28 April 2011 Leave a comment

NHL has begun to announce the finalist for 2011 NHL Awards.

The schedule is as follows:

Date Award
April 19 Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
April 20 General Manager of the Year
April 21 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
April 22 Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
April 25 James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
April 26 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
April 27 Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
April 28 Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
April 29 Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
May 2 NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes)

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

With Easter being late this year, I have been slow in keeping up with these nominations.  So, I will be catching up in order to share my predictions.

Here is current list of award winners:

President’s Trophy (most points by team) – Vancouver Canucks

Art Ross Trophy (scoring leader)  – Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Williams Jennings Trophy (fewest goals allowed) – Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider, Vancouver Canucks

Maurice Richard Trophy (top goal scorer) –  Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks

2010 Norris Trophy Nominees

23 April 2010 Leave a comment

Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings, Mike Green of the Washington Capitals and Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks are the finalists for the 2009-10 Norris Trophy for top defenseman as announced by NHL today.  Check out their stats in the article here.

It is amazing that this year’s nominee will be a first time recipient.  My money is on Duncan Keith.  He has been a consistent player with the Blackhawks this season.  However, Mike Green has been up and coming with the Caps.  So, he could win it too.

The winner will be announced at the 2010 NHL awards on June 23 in Las Vegas.

NHL 2009 Norris Trophy Nominees

23 April 2009 Leave a comment announced the 2009 Norris Trophy nominees for best defensive player.  There are:

Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Mike Green, Washington Capitals
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

All three of these players are deserving of this honor.  Zdeno Chara has played an important role as the captain of the Boston Bruins and their drive to the top of the Eastern Conference.  Mike Green has brought an offensive minded blue liner to the Capitals offense as secured another Southeast Division champion in the Eastern Conference.  But, Nicklas Lidstrom is a veteran blue liner who has won this trophy six times and has done it again to earn this honor.  It is tight race for this trophy this year.  Lidstrom is the favorite and probably will win it again.  But, I pick Chara to break Lidstrom’s streak.

The remaining schedule is as follows:

WED, APRIL 22: Calder Trophy (top rookie)
THU, APRIL 23: Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
FRI, APRIL 24: Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship)
MON, APRIL 27: Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
TUE, APRIL 28: Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
WED, APRIL 29: Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
THU, APRIL 30: Masterton Trophy (perseverance)
FRI, MAY 1: Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
MON, MAY 4: NHL Foundation Award (contributions)