Posts Tagged ‘Vezina Trophy’

2013 NHL Awards – Part II

16 June 2013 Leave a comment

Last night prior to Game 2 of 2013 Stanley Cup, the NHL announced the remaining winners of the 2013 NHL Awards.  Story here.

2013 Hart Trophy winner:Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals My pick: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

2013 Calder Memorial Trophy winner: Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers. My pick: Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks.

2013 Norris Trophy winner: P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens.  My pick: Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins


2013 Vezina Trophy winner: Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets My pick: Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers

2013 Ted Lindsay Award winner: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins My pick:Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

As I stated yesterday, picking awards winners is difficult.  But, all finalists and winners deserve congratulations on their great season.


2013 Vezina Trophy Finalists

Vezina Trophy

NHL announced this past Wednesday the finalists for the 2013 Vezina Trophy. The Vezina Trophy is awarded annually “to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position,” as voted by the general managers of the 30 NHL clubs. This year’s finalists are Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers and Antti Niemi of the San Jose Sharks.

The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final.

All the finalists this year are European.  It great praise of the many talented European players have joined the league in the last decade.

The leader choice for this year’s award would be Lundqvist, but I wouild not count out Niemi has a potential winner.

2012 NHL Awards – Vezina Trophy

26 April 2012 Leave a comment

NHL announced the 2012 Vezina Trophy nominees on April 25. This year’s nominees are New York RangersHenrik Lundqvist, the Los Angeles Kings’ Jonathan Quick and the Nashville Predators’ Pekka Rinne. The Vezina Trophy is awarded “to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position” as voted by the general managers of each of the 30 clubs.  Check out the story here.

The winner will be announced at the 2012 NHL Awards Show, June 20 at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

Categories: Hockey, Sports Tags: , ,

2011 Vezina Trophy Nominees

30 April 2011 1 comment

Last week, the NHL announced the nominees for the Vezina Trophy are Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks, Pekka Rinne from the Nashville Predators and Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins.  NHL story is here.

All three goalie are deserving of this award.  Luongo lead the leagues in wins and few goals allowed by a team.  Rinne has been solid for the Predators all year in the first year out of the first round of the playoffs.  And Thomas has rebounded from a disappointing season to lead the league in goals against average and save percentage.  Those numbers will give Thomas his second Vezina in 3 years.

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

2011 NHL Awards

28 April 2011 Leave a comment

NHL has begun to announce the finalist for 2011 NHL Awards.

The schedule is as follows:

Date Award
April 19 Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
April 20 General Manager of the Year
April 21 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
April 22 Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
April 25 James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
April 26 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
April 27 Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
April 28 Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)
April 29 Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year)
May 2 NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes)

The 2011 NHL Awards will be held at the Pearl Concert Theater at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22. The ceremony will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

With Easter being late this year, I have been slow in keeping up with these nominations.  So, I will be catching up in order to share my predictions.

Here is current list of award winners:

President’s Trophy (most points by team) – Vancouver Canucks

Art Ross Trophy (scoring leader)  – Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Williams Jennings Trophy (fewest goals allowed) – Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider, Vancouver Canucks

Maurice Richard Trophy (top goal scorer) –  Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks

2010 Vezina Trophy Nominees

22 April 2010 Leave a comment

Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils), for the ninth time, along with Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes and Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres are this year’s Vezina Trophy nominees for best goaltender announced by the NHL on Monday.

All these goaltenders played well to earn their nominations.  Ryan Miller has been a consistent contributor and may well be the choice this year.  However, the dark horse of this group is Bryzagalov, who had a big impact on the Coyotes reaching the playoffs this year and second place finish in the Pacific Division.  Yet, Brodeur put up great numbers for a veteran goaltender.

I like Miller to win it.

The winner will be unveiled during the NHL awards show in Las Vegas on June 23.